Daisy Primary Library Award 2017 Winners Announced

Winners of EES for Schools’ Daisy Primary Library Award 2017, also known as the Daisy Award, were announced last week at a closed event. Run by the School Library Service (SLS), the event hosted pupils, staff and parents from three shortlisted schools in the SLS Witham offices.

Award-winning local children’s author Kes Gray was also in attendance and entertained award guests before the winners were announced. Kes Gray is a long-time and generous supporter of the award, which is named after his famous picture book character.

The Daisy Award promotes the importance of good libraries in raising standards and improving outcomes for learners as well as recognising the part that school libraries can play in promoting a life-long love of reading. The award is open to all Essex, Southend and Thurrock primary schools.

Speaking of this year’s participants, Ingrid Davies, Advisory Librarian and Daisy Award co-ordinator, said: “All of our finalists submitted high-quality applications that put the library firmly at the heart of the school. Selecting this year’s winner has been the toughest yet, so much so that we decided to award two winners.”

The 2017 Daisy Primary Library Award winners are:

  • Joint Winner: Heathlands Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School, Colchester
  • Joint Winner: Howbridge Church of England Junior School, Witham
  • Runner-up: St Peter’s Catholic Primary School, Billericay

Kes Gray with the winners and runners-up

Each of the winners will receive new books from this year’s sponsor BookLife and from the SLS book shop, as well as a special school visit from Kes Gray.

For more information on the Daisy Award, visit